Below is a full listing of all the Hearth Tax Lists currently available from the Society.

If you find any items of interest, you can select them from our order form page, print and send in to us to make your purchase.

Hearth Tax Lists For The North Riding Of Yorkshire Michaelmas 1673

1.Gilling West & Hang West Wapentakes

(Richmond, Middleham, Upper Wensleydale, Upper Swaledale, and the south side of Upper Teesdale).

2. Allerton, Gilling East, Hallikeld & Hang East Wapentakes

(Vale of Mowbray, Northern part of the Vale of York, including Northallerton, Bedale and Masham).

3. Birdforth & Bulmer Wapentakes

( Thirsk, Easingwold, almost reaches Helmsley and Malton, & includes some townships now part of York City).

4. Ryedale, Pickering, Lyth, & Scarborough Wapentakes

(Helmsley, Malton, Pickering, Scarborough & Southern part of the North York Moors).

5. Langbarugh West And Langbarugh East, & Whitby Strand Wapentakes

(Stretches west of Stokesley through Guisborough to Whitby, and includes Northern part of the North York Moors).

The Hearth Tax Lists For The West Riding Of Yorkshire Lady Day 1672

1. Claro Wapentake

(Ripon, Harrogate, Knaresborough, Wetherby, etc)

2. Staincliffe & Ewecross Wapentakes

(All of the north-west of the West Riding from Keighley in the south to Sedbergh in the north, & west to the Lancashire border).

3.Agrigg And Morley Wapentakes

(Much of the now industrialised area including Bradford, Huddersfield, Wakefield and the Leeds suburbs).

This Is In Two Volumes: A. Township Lists. B. Surname Index.

4. Barkston Ash & Osgoldcross Wapentakes

(Goole, part of Tadcaster, Selby, Pontefract & Castleford).

5. Skyrack Wapentake

(From Ilkley in the west to Aberford in the east)

6. The Hearth Tax List For The City Of York And Ainsty. Lady Day 1672.

Hearth Tax Lists For The East Riding Of Yorkshire Lady Day 1672

1. Howden, Harthill Holme, Ouse & Derwent, Harthill & Buckrose Wapentakes

(The western side bordering the Rivers Ouse and Derwent including Pocklington, Market Weighton and Norton opposite Malton).

2. The Town And County Of Hull & The Harthill Hunsley And Harthill & Bainton Wapentakes

(Includes Beverley and the north to North Driffield).

3. Dickering & North, Mid And South Holderness Wapentake

( The eastern sidefrom Filey to Spurn Head, including Bridlington, Hornsea and Patrington).

Alphabetical Index To Names In Baines Yorkshire Directory

Shows name, occupation, address, town/village and parish.

Geographical area covered as shown for Hearth Tax Lists.

North Riding : 1823

  • Allertonshire, Gilling East, Halikeld & Hang East Wapentakes
  • Birdforth And Bulmer Wapentakes
  • Gilling West And Hang West Wapentakes
  • Langbargh And Whitby Strand Wapentakes
  • Ryedale, Pickering Lyth And Scarborough Wapentakes


  • Agbrigg Wapentake (2 Vols.)
  • Barkston Ash And Osgoldcross Wapentakes.
  • Claro Wapentake
  • Morley Wapentake (3 Vols.)
  • Skyrack Wapentake (2 Vols.)
  • Staincliffe And Ewecross Wapentakes
  • Staincross Wapentake
  • Strafforth And Tickhill Wapentakes (3 Vols.)

East Riding : 1823

  • Buckrose, Howdenshire, & Ouse And Derwent Wapentakes
  • Dickering And Holderness Wapentaks
  • Harthill Wapentakes
  • Town And County Of Hull (2 Vols.)

York City And Ainsty Wapentake : 1823